Interview Tip – Music

I’ve noticed a lot of blog posts popping up offering advice on interviews. It’s all been really good advice, and I know for people that are interview now, soon, or in the future, we always seek out advice from people who have been there before.  But as I was sitting in my office this afternoon, I began to reflect. Actually I’ve been in a reflective mood for the past 2-3 days, so there could be a lot of blog posts brewing in my mind, and this – this is the first of those thoughtlings.

I don’t want to repeat what has been said. Not really a point in doing that. I would instead like to look at interviewing from perhaps a viewpoint that normally isn’t blogged about. And for me, that is music.  Music? Yes. Music.

From an early age, I was immersed in music. My parents were both musically inclined. There was always music playing in our house. I sometimes think I’m a bit of an old soul when it comes to music. I attribute that to the fact that when I was in middle school I would sit in our basement listen to my parents’ vinyl records, which include The Beatles, James Taylor, Carole King, The Turtles, The Mamas & The Papas, and more. I tend to place music in almost every part of my life. I even made my “life soundtrack” with a friend a few years back. (But that’s another story).  Nevertheless, I think that of course, when it comes to music, it can be an essential part of the interview process. It can relax you. Pump you up. Whatever it is that you might need.

So I decided to provide for you, my blog readers, my current Top 10 “Pump Me Up Before An Interview” song list. As with any list, it’s an ever-evolving piece, so I’m declaring it is subject to change.  Wouldn’t want to be tied down to this forever! But some are classics and are bound to stay. But for now, you get these 10 musical gems.

  1. Little Lion Man – Mumford & Sons
  2. Dog Days are Over – Florence and the Machine
  3. Strip Me – Natasha Bedingfield
  4. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  5. What Is Life – George Harrison
  6. Raise Your Glass – Pink
  7. She Sells Sanctuary – The Cult
  8. Africa – ToTo
  9. Grace Kelly – Mika
  10. Right Back Where We Started From – Maxine Nightingale

Bonus – Free Bird – Lynyrd Skynyrd – because there is always room for Free Bird.

What are your top 10 Pump you up before an Interview Songs? I’d love to hear.

5 responses to “Interview Tip – Music

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview Tip – Music « Reflective Practice -- Topsy.com

  2. Love that you’re making the connection with music — essential! A successful interview requires you to spend time with family, friends and more music. Music that will get everyone on the floor and dancing. Here’s a playlist that I cribbed from the holidays — a playlist that will get you, the children, mom, dad, and grandpa toe-tappin’, stompin’, and head-bobbin’. These sugar-coated jams will make the dog howl and grandma say, “Hey! Run that back.”

    You Want This – Janet Jackson
    Creep – TLC
    Flash Light – Parliament
    Back to Life (However Do You Want Me) – Soul II Soul
    Groove Is In the Heart – Deee-Lite
    Good Times – Chic
    Israelites – Desmond Dekker
    Numbers – Kraftwerk
    Pa’ Bailar – Siempre Quiero Mas (feat. Julieta Venegas) – Bajofondo
    Green Onions – Booker T. & The MG’s
    Toxic – Britney Spears
    Love Shack – The B-52’s
    This Is the Remix – Girl Talk
    ABC – Jackson 5
    Wake Me Up Before You Go Go – Wham!
    Lovestoned/I Think She Knows (Kaskade Remix) – Justin Timberlake
    Green Onions – Booker T & the MGs
    Love At First Sight – Kylie Minogue
    Genius Of Love – Tom Tom Club
    B.O.B. – Outkast

    Thanks for your killer list!

Leave a comment