2010 Reflections & 2011 Goals

As I sit here on New Year’s Eve, I, like many others, have been reflecting on the past year and looking ahead to the next one. The year has brought many personal and professional challenges and blessings. So here are my reflections (in written word & pictures) on the year that was 2010.

1. I started to use Twitter as more than as way to let the world know what I was doing. When I first started on Twitter, it was just another type of Facebook for me. I’d update my “status” or feelings throughout the day.  But then I fell upon the #SAchat community and discovered what an amazing tool I had in front of me.  I’ve connected and developed and grown in ways I never would have without it. I have made some incredible friends. I have helped to educate others.  And simply, it’s just been a lot of fun. I look forward to seeing what 2011 will bring in me in the Twitterverse.

2. I came out of, what I like to call, “The Bald Girl Closet”. 2011 is going to mark nearly 5 years of living with a medical condition that caused me to lose most of my hair. Most, but not all, but without a wig or scarf on my head, it’s a really bad combover look that I only sport at home in front of my cat.

3. I went to Mississippi with an amazing group of students to help with Hurricane Relief. It was one of the most eye-opening experiences of my life. There is still so much there that needs to be done and it was heart breaking to hear and read their stories.

4. I once again had an AMAZING summer with our Orientation Program at B-W and got to work with one of the most outstanding grad students – Brian LeDuc (well, he was a “future” grad student at the time). I had countless laughs and some outstanding adventures around Cleveland.

5. I was published in the Cronk News. Some people know which article, but I don’t want everyone to know my alter ego. 😉

6. One of my closest friends was ordained to the priesthood. Whether or not you are Catholic or religious in any sense, there is just something completely amazing about watching a Catholic priesthood ordination ceremony. I’ve been able to witness it 4 times now. My friend Patrick being the most recent. The photos below were taken afterwards in the barber shop he helped create in the Seminary. We felt it only right that he bless it now that he was official.

7. I taught at the college level for the first time. It was a new and challenging experience. I look forward to Fall 2011 when I can actual do it better that time around.

8. I watched the first of my siblings get married. I come from a blended family (well, we’ve been blended for the past 11 years now) and my (step)sister Megan got married. One of my favorite memories from that night was dancing with my dad (with my siblings too) to Paul Simon’s “You Can Call Me Al” which was a favorite of my dad’s.

As I look ahead to 2011, I always think of a lot of goals and resolutions I should have in mind.  Sometimes more than are actually accomplishable. But looking ahead, here are the ones I’m really going to work on:

1. Reading more. I accumulate books, but don’t make the time to read them. I’m hoping to read a book each month.

2. Blog more. I need to write more than I have been.  Be more reflective. I also want to get my own domain set up. I’ll be looking for help with that one – just an FYI.

3. Go on more “Photo Adventures” with my friends. Remind myself why I love being on the other side of the lens.

4. Get healthy. With an official diagnosis I’m working on getting myself back into a more fit, healthy version of myself. And while I know this is one goal many people often pick in the new year, I know that I HAVE to commit to this one in order to just get better.

So those are my reflections and goals. Nothing too earth shattering, but simply a look back at what I have accomplished in the course of a year. Stay tuned for more reflections in 2011.

2 responses to “2010 Reflections & 2011 Goals

  1. Thanks for posting / sharing this Kathy. It’s been great getting to know you this year. I still wish I had a recording of your epic rant…it was easily the best one of 2010 😉

Leave a comment