The Next Step – Realizations Post ACPA

When I left for #ACPA11 I can clearly say that I was (and still am) at a crossroads in my career as a student affairs professional. I’ve been slowing moving, over the past several years, in a direction that has led me to this point in my life. I went into ACPA with excitement of learning more and catching up with friends and hopefully gaining new experiences. However, what I walked away with was so much more than my expectations.  I had posted on Twitter that I had felt overwhelmed in a positive way, and that is completely true. I know many times the word “overwhelmed” can be associated with more negative types of stress, but not in this situation. I was overwhelmed pretty much by the AWESOMENESS of what I was experiencing, who I was meeting, and opportunities that were being offered to me.

It hit me at one point. And it may seem like an obvious thing to realize, but yet until you actually say it to yourself, it never seems quite real. Do you know what I mean? I hope that you do, but even if not, it was THIS that hit me half way through the conference:

I am a strong professional woman in Student Affairs.

And then I realized, I need to start acting like it. Not that I wasn’t acting like it before, but now with the self-realization happening within my brain, I needed to be more confident about ACTING on it. (And as I just typed that sentence I realized I used “be more”…I guess it solidifies that it was meant to happen at ACPA11). I needed to not be afraid of speaking up, because my thoughts are intelligent and worthwhile. I have the ability to impact. While there are people out there that I want to meet and connect with, I now recognize there are others out there who want to meet and connect with me. And I don’t mean that in a way that is egotistical, but in a way that indicates responsibility. I have become so much more aware of who I am and what I represent. So crazy that on the first night of the conference I had a conversation with Ed Cabellon about this exact concept. But here it is. The reality of who I am becoming.

And so as I realized this attitude, this new found “me”, I started to approach this conference in a totally different way. I started to say “YES” in the realization that I’m ready for the next step. In my job and in my involvement in ACPA and the field of Student Affairs overall. So I said yes to involvement and roles within the AOFYE Commission Directorate Board. I said yes to meetings with people that are influencing change and areas I want to be involved in – like Tom Krieglstein.  I’ve realized I have a responsibility to continue to educate and engage, not just share. My concept of the Twitter Backchannel has change. I tried to not just share the info, but engage my followers in discussion.

And through this realization and refocus on my own next step, I keep thinking about other people’s next steps. Chris Conzen told me that he noticed I was being more aware about both talking and listening. Not that I hadn’t done it before, but now I was aware. Does that mean I’m becoming a grown up? 🙂 I suppose that is what the next step is. I’m about to trade in some cardigans for some suit jackets. (But not all of my cardigans. Wouldn’t want Becca Obergefell to worry.)

So I’m heading into the next level. The next step. Part of it will definitely be a leap of faith, a risk, but with that, so many great possibilities are ahead of me.

5 responses to “The Next Step – Realizations Post ACPA

  1. Thanks for sharing Kathy, it was so great catching up and getting to know better at ACPA. I appreciate the mention in this post b/c I too, learned a lot from you. You encouraged and challenged me in my thoughts of my role in this online space, and for that, I’m grateful.

    You are an amazing professional and person. I know you will continue to do great things and share them with us here. ACPA is extremely lucky to have you, as are we in #sachat.

    @EdCabellon

  2. Leah is exactly right, though I don’t mind if you trade in a cardigan or two. It’s great to see someone I consider a mentor and friend succeeding, growing, and transitioning. Happy to be a part of your journey 🙂

  3. Kathy – I totally relate to your post (although I didn’t come to the realization I was a strong woman in student affairs, that’d be a little awkward). But I had the same experience at NASPA.

    But here is the thing, I think your growth and realization of your awesomeness is a combination of things that “our” community (#SAchat) is all about. We’ve come to empower each other, teach each other, connect with each other, share with each other. From following weddings (@OberBecca) to following engagements (I know someone did this in #SAChat) to babies being born (@JenKLando @KBHyman) to spawning so many new bloggers in the field.

    To sum this up – I think this blog post – carries the voice of many in the #SAchat community who maybe haven’t found their voices just yet to share the way you did (and have in past posts).

    Keep it up. You’re a role model to many and I’m happy to be one of them.

    Rock on –

    Joe

  4. I came to the same realization a few months ago. Fun, isn’t it? What’s great is that the #sachat community and my personal network’s response has been somewhere along the lines of “duh.” I really appreciate the camaraderie I’ve experienced.

Leave a comment